top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Piper

JULY 5, 2020 ORDER OF (VIRTUAL) WORSHIP

Minister: Rev. Al Mather Soloist: Amy Weston









TRUSTEE TIDBITS

All Dressed Up and Nowhere to Go!

Hello, Everyone,

My name is Karen Sticht, and I'm one of the voluntary Trustees for the Union Church of Meredith Neck. If you are looking at my photo and reading these words on an electronic device, we are not at the church celebrating the first Sunday of the 2020 season.


My job for the church is one of communication and organization. I try to make sure that the Board of Trustees are all on the same page, questions are answered for the ministers, news articles are posted, and e-mails are sent. I could also write a really funny sit-com on problems that arise when trying to put on a small, summer country church service with different ministers, musicians, and denominations weekly.


My most fun job, however, is finding musicians for each of our services. Our pianist, Jane Jenness, is a godsend and will be missed this summer. My clarinet ensemble is attempting to make up for Jane's talent with a hymn of the day, to which I hope you will all sing along. (I wish I had one of those red, bouncy balls that followed along like Mitch Miller used to feature with his Sing-A-Longs on the Johnny Carson Show in the '60s, but alas, I do not.) Amy Weston will be singing this week as well. To me, music is the sweet frosting on a delicious cake during any church service, and some of the best music ever written is church music!


I hope you enjoy the contributions of music, photos, e-mails, laughter, and minister-messaging this summer here on Facebook and on our website, which would not be possible without the generous contributions of Robyn Piper!


Have a great week,

-Karen S.


SOLO: “You Say” – Amy Weston


MINISTER’S MESSAGE:

“The Word” from Pastor Al I will miss participating in the summer service at Union Church. I remember telling you a couple of years ago that if that church could install basic amenities like electricity and water so it could operate on a year-around basis, I’d sign up to join. I admire the folks who work to keep the Union Church alive each summer. There is something special about it. Believe it or not, I had my sermon all ready for July 5th! I could save it for next year but sermons are sometimes like some kinds of food that you keep too long, they get moldy and not very nourishing. But if I am able I will be happy to accept an invitation to preach in the summer of 2021. In the meantime I wish the good folks that are involved in the Union Church my prayers and good wishes that we will finally be out from under the pandemic so we can begin the work of restoring our nation. -Al


HYMN OF THE DAY: “Let There Be Peace On Earth”

(Please scroll down to view lyrics sheet below video)



SOLO: “Amazing Grace” – Amy Weston

ANTHEM: “Patriotic Medley

(Please scroll down to view lyrics sheet below video)


191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page